Author Topic: Air Tools  (Read 3380 times)

Offline cwmcobra

• Crazy about Buick!
  • The Verde Howitzer
    • Ginky Weeds Restoration Project
Air Tools
« on: March 18, 2010, 09:04:00 AM »
I'd like to tap into the experience of this group in the use of air tools and their requirements.

I'm in the process of installing a compressed air system for my shop before getting serious about working on my '65.  I've purchased a 2-stage Ingersoll Rand compressor and will be plumbing the distribution lines in 3/4" pipe for mains and 1/2" for application legs.  The compressor pressure switch is set to go on at 145 PSI and off at 175 PSI.  I plan to put a water filter and regulator at the ouput from the compressor and secondary filter/regulators at the two application legs.  I've never used air tools before and would appreicate help with the following questions:

1.  What pressure do most tools, including blast cabinets, normally work best at?  Most are rated at 90 PSI; is this the typical pressure used?

2.  With 175 PSI max. coming from the compressor, what maximum range is needed for the primary regulator?  Most of the 3/4" NPT regulators adjust up to 125 PSI, a few up to 150 PSI.  Is there any need or benefit to upping the max. range to 150 PSI?

3.  The secondary regulators will be 1/2" NPT size and I'm planning to use units with 125 PSI max. adjusting range.  This is obviously related to question #1.  I presume no tools required more than 125 PSI, am I correct?

With your help on this, I hope to have the system functional soon.

Cheers!

Chuck
« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 09:06:32 AM by cwmcobra »
Steve Shuman's 1965 Skylark GS Convertible: Flame Red/401/4 BBL/Automatic - BCA Archival Preservation
1965 Skylark GS Convertible: Verde Green/401/2x4 BBL/4-speed - AACA First Grand National - AACA National Award - BHA Outstanding GS - BCA Senior Gold
1965 Shelby Cobra Replica

BCA 48497
AACA 91100

Offline Brian

• Global Moderator
  • Crazy about Buick!
Re: Air Tools