Author Topic: Engine Removal?  (Read 3472 times)

Offline Rollaround

• Crazy about Buick!
Engine Removal?
« on: January 22, 2016, 06:26:18 PM »
After a long delay I'm finally ready to pull the engine on the red car. I was going to pull the engine and trany at once but decided to remove the trany first. 
This is my first time pulling a Nailhead, so I'm wondering what guys typically use as sling attachment points. I was planing on attaching the sling chain's to the back of the head's at the firewall and using the upper bolts on the of the manifold that runs from head to head.
I did leave the exhaust manifolds on. 
Thanks in advance.   
Kevin
Northwest Ohio
Working the endless restroation.

Offline Loren At 65GS

• Administrator
  • Crazy about Buick!
  • Senior Administrator
    • 65 GS dot com
Re: Engine Removal?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2016, 06:56:48 PM »
That's where I use for lift points. I also have an engine leveler that allows for changing the angle on the engine.

Good luck with it,

Loren
65 GS hardtop BCA Senior
 65 GS thin pillar coupe
 65 Skylark coupe v-6
 65 GS hardtop restoration project
 65 Sport Wagon
 70 GS 455 htp / original engine
 94 Roadmaster wagon
 96 Roadmaster wagon- parts car
 63 Riviera

BCA 14371
 BCA 65 Gran Sport Division

Offline cwmcobra

• Crazy about Buick!
  • The Verde Howitzer
    • Ginky Weeds Restoration Project
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2016, 06:57:33 PM »
I used Brian's recommended technique, removing the intake manifold and attaching chains used those manifold bolts.  Thread:  http://65gs.com/board/index.php?topic=2246.0

My painter likes to use a carb adapter plate, as shown by Dr Frankenbuick in the referenced thread.  Apparently both work well.  Pictures below.

Let us know how it went!

Chuck
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 07:05:46 PM by cwmcobra »
Steve Shuman's 1965 Skylark GS Convertible: Flame Red/401/4 BBL/Automatic - BCA Archival Preservation