Author Topic: New member in Canada  (Read 2011 times)

Offline jackadoo

• Buick Fan
New member in Canada
« on: September 11, 2011, 07:43:03 PM »
Hi - I'm new to the world of Gran Sports - introduced through my dad who bought a 65 convertible last fall.  He's not much of a computer guy so I expect I'll be posting up his questions.

The car is a nice driver, restored in the original navy on white combo.    The features match the cowl tag as I deciphered it except for the original Buick tach and Stewart Warner retro gauges that my dad installed.  There are a few things we want to tidy up (cracked steering wheel and dash and one pitted rear tail) and my dad is looking to install rear seatbelts.

We're in Toronto and purchased the car from Ottawa.  We think the car spent some time in Ohio as there is an Ohio chapter BCA sticker on the windshield.  Unfortunately the original VIN plate is no longer on the doorframe - there's a sticker on the door (above the latch) that shows the VIN.  We're not sure if the car has been given a new VIN for some reason or if the engine is not original to the car) as this number doesn't seem to match what we see on the engine.  We haven't been able to find the VIN on the frame but I will look next time my dad puts the car on the lift.  I understand it should be on the top side of the frame by the driver's door - is that correct?

Cheers

Mark

Cheers

Mark

Offline Loren At 65GS

• Administrator
  • Crazy about Buick!
  • Senior Administrator
    • 65 GS dot com
Re: New member in Canada
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2011, 08:11:54 PM »
Welcome Mark,
  There are two spots on the frame for the s/n. You are correct about the one under the drivers door. Also there is one located on the drivers frame rail on the trunk extension portion.It is on the outboard side, not the inboard gas tank side.
 Loren
65 GS hardtop BCA Senior
 65 GS thin pillar coupe
 65 Skylark coupe v-6
 65 GS hardtop restoration project
 65 Sport Wagon