Author Topic: Finally Home!  (Read 3675 times)

Offline campfamily

• Crazy about Buick!
Re: Finally Home!
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2010, 11:08:17 AM »
That is one nice looking car!

Keith
65 Skylark GranSport, Convertible, Burgundy Mist, White Interior, Mostly Original, 70,000 miles

Offline Loren At 65GS

• Administrator
  • Crazy about Buick!
  • Senior Administrator
    • 65 GS dot com
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2010, 07:05:01 PM »
Rhett,
Yes I have had some personal experience with that switch.
I've owned a few Skylarks and GSs.
The blower is accessed from the engine compartment. As I remember, you need to remove the passenger inner fender to get it out. The switch is accessed via removal of the dash pad and the plastic dash surround then you can get at the screws that hold the trim cover around the switch and heater controls. When that is finally off, there are two screws that hold the switch in. It comes out through the front.
It's not all that complicated, just time consuming.
Best of luck,
Loren
65 GS hardtop BCA Senior
 65 GS thin pillar coupe
 65 Skylark coupe v-6
 65 GS hardtop restoration project
 65 Sport Wagon
 70 GS 455 htp / original engine
 94 Roadmaster wagon
 96 Roadmaster wagon- parts car
 63 Riviera

BCA 14371
 BCA 65 Gran Sport Division

Offline Chris

• Crazy about Buick!
  • "Fast With Class"
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2010, 08:11:58 PM »
There is actually a "Buick Service" way to remove the housing that John E. mentioned before that involves (get this) drilling a hole in the inner fender well that allows enough access for a socket and extension to reach the one bolt that requires you to remove the entire fender well.

This is actually documented somewhere in either the 65 manual or one of the service supplementals.

I think Tom had this decision to make last year and decided to just bite the bullet and remove the inner fender well.

Chris
-= A Howitzer with Windshield Wipers =-

1965 GS Coupe
 1983 Porsche 911 SC
 2000 Porsche 911