Author Topic: 4 Speed stuck in 3rd Gear  (Read 3269 times)

Offline Weldar

• Crazy about Buick!
4 Speed stuck in 3rd Gear
« on: May 05, 2013, 06:00:25 PM »
Having some fun driving the 4 speed until today. Took one of my boys out for a lesson and shazaam....we're stuck in 3rd gear. I was happy we did not have to drive home in reverse. I jacked it up and took a look underneath but nothing appears amiss, so I put the cover on it and walked in the house. Have noticed that it pops out of 2nd occasionally as well. That is the extent of my troubleshooting, and I'm new to the manual transmission game so any tips would be appreciated.

Dwaine
65 Skylark GS HT Auto - Under restoration
65 Skylark GS HT 4sp - Driver
2 x 65 Skylarks for parts

"If you stay ready, you don't have to get ready" - Les K.
"The closer to the wellhead the better" - Oilfield Oldtimer

Offline WkillGS

• Administrator
  • Crazy about Buick!
Re: 4 Speed stuck in 3rd Gear
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 07:31:32 PM »
I honestly haven't driven my 4 speed T-10's  yet, but 2 of my cars with Richmond 5 speeds have gotten stuck in 2nd gear. The cause was the shifter linkage.... the rod for 2nd gear was too long (loose) and it wasn't pulling out of 2nd gear for the 2-3 shift. The result was it was not pulling out of 2nd, and couldn't select any other gear. Shortening the rod to the 1-2 shift lever fixed the problem.
Try going under the car and moving the 1-2 shift lever into 'neutral'  and see if that fixes it.
For my particular 5 speed problem, I had to turn the engine off to get it 'unstuck' from 2nd gear.
Dunno if this applies to your situation, but it may be worth a try.

Walt K
Eastern Pa

66 GS Astro Blue/blue 425 auto
66 GS Silver Mist/black 401 4 spd
66 GS Flame Red/black 401 5 spd
66 GS Saddle Mist/black 401 L76 auto
66 Special Flame Red/black 300 5 spd
65 GS vert Verde Green/ Saddle buckets 401 4 spd
79 Turbo Regal

Offline Brian

• Global Moderator
  • Crazy about Buick!